Our strategies can help corporate IP departments become profit centers

About Us

Davé Law Group ("DLG"), registered in Virginia, USA, is founded by Dr. Raj S. Davé , a patent attorney in the US. He was previously a partner at Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP and Morrison Foerster in the US.

DLG has offices in France, India, Japan and the United States. DLG has around 35 professionals worldwide. DLG’s India back-office is named LexpertConsilium. DLG provides “one-stop” patent services in Europe, India, Japan and the US.

DLG's core strengths are in the areas of IP Counseling, Patent Preparation, Patent Prosecution, Patent Opinions, Post-Grant Patent Reexamination, Patent Searches, IP Due Diligence and Litigation Management.

DLG’s unique value proposition is in maximizing the value of a client’s patent portfolio and while minimizing the legal costs.

Who we are ...

Davé Law Group in McLean, Virginia, US, is founded by Dr. Raj S. Davé, a registered patent attorney in the US and previously a partner at Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP and Morrison Foerster in the US. Raj is a leader and experienced practitioner of Intellectual Property law. Raj has extensive experience in several diversified technologies, including biotechnology, business method, chemical, electrical, hardware and software technologies, information technology and internet, materials and polymer science, pharmaceuticals and telecommunication. Raj has prepared about 600+ US patent applications and prosecuted about 5000+ US patent applications before the USPTO and other international Patent Offices.

What processes do we have in place to ensure quality and timeliness of patent work product?

a. Internal/external training to the patent drafting team

We go with the thinking that ‘drafting’ is best learned by ‘apprenticeship.’ The drafting team continues to be monitored/mentoring by senior US counsels on our team.

b. Client training

We provide training as per client’s request. The most common training for clients entails: (i) training scientists and engineers on innovation and patent protection in typical development/design organizations; (ii) undertaking brainstorming sessions with inventions; and (iii) teaching the legal principles on bar dates, subject matter eligibility, how soon to start the process, the nature of the claims, disclosure requirements, etc. in context of the patent laws in India and US.

c. Quality Control

We have quality checks by senior US counsels, each with more than 20 years of US patent law experience, at every step of any patent project, whether it is patent searches, patent drafting and prosecution, opinion preparation, or litigation support. The repeat work from our clients is the best objective indication of our quality.

Harvesting Ideas – what is our model for inventor interviews?

For specific cases assigned to us for drafting, we conduct in-person interviews if the inventor is in India, particularly Bangalore. Typically, we use an audio/video recorder and request the inventor to provide detailed information in an invention disclosure form. We conduct a video conference interview if the inventor is located outside India. We agree to any additional information required at the meeting. We normally work with the inventors immediately to secure all the required information. We send a complete first draft almost ready for filing, typically requiring one round of review.

For general harvesting of ideas, we would conduct a face-to-face brainstorming session with inventors. We review any written material they have in the technology space the inventors are working on, attend the brainstorming session, and interview the inventors to harvest inventions for patenting. We document the potential inventions in detailed invention disclosures and work with the management of our clients to narrow down or combine the inventions for patenting.

Our President & Founder

Dr. Raj S. Davé

Raj’s vast experience in all aspects of Intellectual Property includes IP counseling, patent prosecution, dispute resolution, licensing, technology transactions, IP mining and enforcement, post-grant proceedings, pre-litigation opinions and patent litigation, including ANDA litigation. He also has extensive experience in several diversified technologies, including biotechnology, business method, chemical, electrical, hardware and software technologies, information technology and internet, materials and polymer science, pharmaceuticals and telecommunication.
Read full bio

raj.dave@davelawgroup.com         T:240.715.2061


 

Of Counsel


Girma Wolde-Michael

Of Counsel, JD and US Patent Attorney

girma.wolde@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Hisao Ishii

Of Counsel, Japanese Patent Attorney

h.ishii@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Murielle Derrien

Of Counsel, European Patent Attorney, PhD (Life Sciences)

Email: murielle.derrien@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Patent Agents


Dr. Kangmee May Woo

US Patent Agent, PhD (Medical Sciences)

Email: kangmee.woo@gmail.com

Read full bio

Dr. Malathy Krishnamurthy

US Patent Agent, PhD (Chemistry)

Email: malathy.kmurthy@lexpertconsilium.com

Read full bio

Dr. Astha Agarwal

India Patent Agent, PhD (Biotechnology)

Email: astha.agarwal@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Patrali Banerjee

India Patent Agent, PhD (Organic Chemistry)

Email: patrali.banerjee@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Jyotsna Jolly

India Patent Agent, PhD (Bio-nanotechnology)

Email: jyotsna.jolly@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Madhu Smita

India Patent Agent, PhD (Bio-nanotechnology)

Email: madhu.smita@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Satya Sridevi Pogaru

India Patent Agent, MS (Mechanical Engineering)

Email: satya.pogaru@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Ganesh Kumar A

India Patent Agent, B.E (Electrical and Electronics Engineering)

Email: ganesh.kumar@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Technical Specialists


Arindam Datta

Technical Specialist, PhD (Materials Science & Chemical Engineering)

E-mail: arindam_datta@hotmail.com

Read full bio

Dr. Parvish Pandya

Technical Specialist, PhD (Zoology - Cell Biology)

parvish.pandya@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Vaishali Sharma M

Technical Specialist, PhD (Material Science)

vaishali.sharma@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Kalpana Tomar

Technical Specialist, PhD (Organic Chemistry)

kalpana.tomar@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Dr. Rama Parthasarathy

Technical Specialist, PhD (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)

Email: rama.parthasarathy@lexpertconsilium.com

Read full bio

Suma Madapur

Technical Specialist, MS (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

E-mail: suma.madapur@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Operations


Krishna Shastri

VP (Operations), MS (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)

Email: krishna.shastri@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Gaurav Sagarwal

Trademark Attorney & Manager (Operations)

Email: gaurav.sagarwal@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Venkatesh Mahendrakar

Manager (Finance)

Email: venkatesh.mahendrakar@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Arun Haridas

Patent Engineer, B.E. (Information Science Engineering)

Email: arun.haridas@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Sreedevi P

Patent Engineer, B.Tech. (Electronics and Communication)

Email: sreedevi.p@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio