About Us

Davé Law Group ("DLG"), registered in Virginia, USA, is founded by Dr. Raj S. Davé, a patent attorney in the US. He was previously a partner at Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP and Morrison Foerster in the US.

DLG's core strengths are in the areas of IP Counseling, Patent Preparation, Patent Prosecution, Patent Opinions, Post-Grant Patent Reexamination, Patent Searches, IP Due Diligence and Litigation Management.

DLG’s unique value proposition is in maximizing the value of a client’s patent portfolio and while minimizing the legal costs.

Who we are ...

Davé Law Group in McLean, Virginia, US, is founded by Dr. Raj S. Davé, a registered patent attorney in the US and previously a partner at Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP and Morrison Foerster in the US. Raj is a leader and experienced practitioner of Intellectual Property law. Raj has extensive experience in several diversified technologies, including biotechnology, business method, chemical, electrical, hardware and software technologies, information technology and internet, materials and polymer science, pharmaceuticals and telecommunication. Raj has prepared about 2000+ US patent applications and prosecuted about 5000+ US patent applications before the USPTO and other international Patent Offices.

What processes do we have in place to ensure quality and timeliness of patent work product?

a. Internal/external training to the patent drafting team

We go with the thinking that ‘drafting’ is best learned by ‘apprenticeship.’ The drafting team continues to be monitored/mentoring by senior US counsels on our team.

b. Client training

We provide training as per client’s request. The most common training for clients entails: (i) training scientists and engineers on innovation and patent protection in typical development/design organizations; (ii) undertaking brainstorming sessions with inventions; and (iii) teaching the legal principles on bar dates, subject matter eligibility, how soon to start the process, the nature of the claims, disclosure requirements, etc. in context of the patent laws in India and US.

c. Quality Control

We have quality checks by senior US counsels, each with more than 20 years of US patent law experience, at every step of any patent project, whether it is patent searches, patent drafting and prosecution, opinion preparation, or litigation support. The repeat work from our clients is the best objective indication of our quality.

Harvesting Ideas – what is our model for inventor interviews?

For specific cases assigned to us for drafting, we conduct in-person or video interviews. Typically, we use an audio/video recorder and request the inventor to provide detailed information in an invention disclosure form. We agree to any additional information required at the meeting. We normally work with the inventors immediately to secure all the required information. We send a complete first draft almost ready for filing, typically requiring one round of review.

For general harvesting of ideas, we would conduct a face-to-face brainstorming session with inventors. We review any written material they have in the technology space the inventors are working on, attend the brainstorming session, and interview the inventors to harvest inventions for patenting. We document the potential inventions in detailed invention disclosures and work with the management of our clients to narrow down or combine the inventions for patenting.

Our President & Founder

Dr. Raj S. Davé

Raj’s vast experience in all aspects of Intellectual Property includes IP counseling, patent prosecution, dispute resolution, licensing, technology transactions, IP mining and enforcement, post-grant proceedings, pre-litigation opinions and patent litigation, including ANDA litigation. He also has extensive experience in several diversified technologies, including biotechnology, business method, chemical, electrical, hardware and software technologies, information technology and internet, materials and polymer science, pharmaceuticals and telecommunication.
Read full bio

           raj.dave@davelawgroup.com         T: +1.240.715.2061


 

Patent Attorneys/Agents


Sean E. Paquette, J.D.

Patent Attorney

sean.paquette@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Eric A. Frische

Patent Agent

eric.frische@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Astha Agarwal, Ph.D.

Patent Agent / Leader, Chemistry & Life Sciences Group

astha.agarwal@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Madhu Smita, Ph.D.

Patent Agent

madhu.smita@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Satya S. Pogaru, M.S.

Patent Agent

satya.pogaru@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Ganesh Kumar

Patent Agent

ganesh.kumar@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Jyotsna Jolly, Ph.D.

Patent Agent

jyotsna.jolly@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Priyanka S Mistry

Patent Agent

priyanka.mistry@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Technical Specialists


Parvish Pandya, Ph.D.

Technical Specialist / Vice-President, H. R.

parvish.pandya@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Vaishali Sharma, Ph.D.

Technical Specialist

vaishali.sharma@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Kalpana Tomar, Ph.D.

Technical Specialist

kalpana.tomar@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Vijeta Sharma, Ph.D.

Technical Specialist

vijeta.sharma@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Operations


Krishna Shastri, M. Tech.

President (Operations)
Leader, Engineering and Software Group

krishna.shastri@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Gaurav Sagarwal

Vice President (Paralegal & Trademark)

gaurav.sagarwal@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Arun Haridas

Patent Engineer & Quality Analyst

arun.haridas@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Sreedevi Palampalliyalil

Senior Patent Paralegal & Patent Engineer

sreedevi.p@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio

Yamuna K S

Senior Patent Paralegal

yamuna.ks@davelawgroup.com

Read full bio